The road to FIFA world cup 2022 can be hazy, but key to making the biggest stage. Already, some teams have had their hopes dashed through the qualification phase, while others are waiting to know their fate at the playoffs.

With a number of slots left to be decided by playoffs, teams from each confederation will go back to the drawing board to make sure they join other qualified teams.

In a few months time, the stage will be set for football’s biggest fest – the 2022 FIFA World Cup. Here is what you need to know about the qualification.

Summary of Qualification


The first round of qualifiers in Africa have now seen ten teams qualified to the final phase of qualification. The top five teams will qualify for Qatar after two-legged ties in march 2022.


Ten out of 13 have officially secured a spot at the biggest stage. While others awaits to qualify through the playoff.


The top three teams from this region will qualify for the Fifa 2022 World Cup, and the fourth will enter the intercontinental playoff.

ASIA (AFC) – 4 and playoff

The home-and-away matchups will determine the standings in this region. The group winners and runners-up will qualify for the World Cup, while the third-place finishers will play in a playoff for the right to compete in the intercontinental playoff.

SOUTH AMERICA (CONMEBOL) – 4 and playoff

In south America, four teams will qualify for the Fifa 2022 World Cup. Brazil and Argentina are the only teams to secure their place at the Mundial. The fifth-placed team will advance to the inter-confederation play-offs.

OCEANIAN (OFC) – One Playoff

In the Oceanian region, 1 inter-confederation play-off slot is available for OFC teams. This will see one of the teams either qualify for the Fifa 2022 world Cup, or get knockout.

The total number of Qualifying teams from each confederation is 31, plus the host; Qatar, taking the number to 32.

As at the time of writing this article eleven (12) teams have officially qualified for the 2022 Fifa world cup, the teams are: France, England, Germany, Brazil, Argentina, Switzerland, Spain, Croatia, Belgium, Serbia, Netherlands, and Denmark.

As we awaits the outcome of the playoff in the coming months, we will keep you updated.

About the Author

Related Posts

A new year is always a good time to plan your travels however you want. This year, to achieve your...

What does Christmas remind you of? Let me guess: food, treats, trips to Santa and money from...

Save up to 20% on travel cost when you use Pay Small Small™ on Wakanow Black Friday came early...

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.