5 Legends of the Football World Cup

5 Legends of the Football World Cup

In anticipation of the 2018 Russia World Cup, let’s get in a time travel machine and go more than a couple years back in World Cup history. Sit back and relax as we relive some iconic Mundial moments with our top 5 legends of the football world cup:  


Roger Milla

Full Name: Albert Roger Mooh Mille

Cameroonian Footballer

Age: 65

Playing position: Striker

5 Legends of the Football World Cup

Source: CNN

Roger Milla – the Cameroonian icon, made football history at two separate FIFA World Cups by becoming the tournament’s oldest ever goalscorer in 1990.

He scored 4 goals and helped Cameroon become the first African team to reach the World Cup quarter-finals.

He went on to break his own record four years later at the age of 42. He did so just a minute after coming on as a half-time substitute in a 6-1 defeat to Russia.

Milla became the first African player to appear in three World Cups simply by taking to the field.  He was also the oldest man from any team or continent to play at the global finals until Faryd Mondragon took to the field in Los Cafateros at age 43.


Rashidi Yekini

Full Name: Rashidi Yekini

Nigerian Footballer

Age: 23 October 1963 – 4 May 2012

Playing Position: Striker

5 Legends of the Football World Cup

Source: Brila

On the night of June 21, 1994, one of the most memorable goal celebrations took place when a striker scored Nigeria’s first ever goal at the World Cup finals against Bulgaria. Thanks to goals from Yekini, the Super Eagles qualified for the Mundial – their very first appearance on the big stage.

Yekini scored eight goals in the qualification series to ensure Nigeria’s flag was finally flown at USA ’94 known as the biggest World Cup at the time.

Yekini met a ball that was square played by the winger, Finidi George to gift Nigeria her first ever World Cup goal.

As though the realization of the goal suddenly dawned on him, Yekini ran into the goal post and rigorously shook the net while crying and screaming, creating one of the most iconic World Cup goals celebration moments ever.



Full Name: Edson Arantes do Nascimento

Brazilian Footballer

Age: 77

Playing Position: Forward

5 Legends of the Football World Cup

Source: Sl


Pele is and always will be a global football icon. His play which is full of so much joy and striking shots are just some of the reasons he is referred to as one of the greatest footballers of all time.

Pele is the only player to inspire Brazil to win the World Cup thrice 1958 and 1970.

At age 17, he was introduced in the 1958 football tournament where he went on to score a hat-trick to help his team qualify for the finals. He went on to score two goals at the finals.

The following year he was named best player in the 1959 South American Championship, scoring 8 goals.

Pele’s pass to a Carlos Alberto for the fourth goal in the 1970 Finals is still one of the best lay-offs in football history. Pele remains Brazil’s record goalscorer.

Pele always refers to the game of football as El Joga Bonito – the beautiful game.


Gerd Muller

Full Name: Gerhard “Gerd” Müller

German Footballer

Age: 72

Playing Position: Striker

5 Legends of the Football World Cup

Source: Daily Mail

Gerd Muller is one of the best strikers in football history as well as one of the greatest goal scorers of all time. Also known as Der Bomber, Gerd was known for his extraordinary ability to turn at lightning speed while handling the ball as well as his impeccable goal score sheet.

Gerd’s incredible performance in the 1970 World Cup earned him the title of Europe’s Player of the Year. He was also the top scorer in the competition. He scored ten goals for West Germany and he also received the “Golden Boot” as top goalscorer.

He went on to help his national team win the 1972 European Championship, and the 1974 World Cup, where he scored the winning goal against the Netherlands in the finals – West Germany won 2-1.


Diego Maradona

Full Name: Diego Armando Maradona Franco

Argentine footballer

Age: 57

Playing Position: Striker

5 Legends of the Football World Cup

Source: The Sun

Diego Maradona is undoubtedly a legend that single-handedly led his team to win the World Cup in 1986, scoring five goals and five assists in seven games. Even with good players like Valdano, Burruchago, the Argentina team wouldn’t have won the trophy without Maradona.

Maradona played in four FIFA World Cups. During the 1986 World Cup in Mexico, he served as Captain to Argentina and went on to lead them to victory over West Germany in the final.

Maradona scored the two goals over England that went on the feature in football history for different reasons: the first goal was an unpenalized foul which became known as the “Hand of God”, the second goal – four minutes after the first, followed a 66 yard dribble past five England players which later went on to be voted “The Goal of the Century” by Fifa.com voters.

By dribbling his own half and scoring, Maradona showed his genius – using beyond excellent control to score brilliant goals.

Maradona also won the Golden Ball as the tournament’s best player.


Fast forward to now, it’s 2018, another World Cup year: who is going to be the football legend this year? Don’t miss out on a chance to witness history firsthand  It’s not too early to make your 2018 Russia World Cup plans. Check out our affordable World Cup packages here: https://www.wakanow.com/en-ng/world-cup/


Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.